top of page
Writer's pictureGerry

From the desk of Terry...

On Thursday, the 25th of April, I started the location filming of the third of the four screenplays that I took the opportunity of writing during ‘lockdown’. All of the work that the professionals call ‘2nd unit’ filming I have already done, so that ‘principal’ photography was all that was left to do.


So! armed with my ‘shooting script’ on which all the shots were planned, I arrived promptly at 2 pm at the house of my cast, Jeff and Tricia Bannister which they have allowed me to use as the location for the four short ‘indoor’ scenes of the film. Being properly prepared to direct a movie is, for me, the most important part of the movie-making process, and although every shot was planned, I always leave room for ‘opportunity' shots that happen on the day. Indeed, I had thought of a shot that wasn’t in the script - but which would help me in a transition between scenes.



I simply told Tricia what I wanted, gave her the line of dialogue and shot it. I also did a ‘safety retake’ but when I saw it on the edit screen both takes were so good that I had difficulty in choosing which to use. But this is what I get used to when working with Jeff and Tricia. I was back home by 4-pm with that wonderful feeling of satisfaction. We were all making the same movie.

This shoot also proved to me that although there are those who think that my methods are those of a cinematic dinosaur, I’m not extinct - and I keep making movies.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page