top of page
Writer's pictureGerry

News from Terry





Terry writes... “On Saturday, June 8th, I finished my last fiction film ‘The Errand Girl’, which has been shown at the club, and I decided that I would take a break for a few weeks before thinking about another project.


But, just over two weeks later, on June 27th, I was browsing through my ‘ideas’ folder - which I have always kept, and came across the opening scene of a film that I had started on a number of years ago, but never found a way of taking it further. So I looked at it again. An idea came to me and I scribbled down a few notes.


The following day I did some more work on it and now found that I had what they call a ‘rough treatment’. On Saturday, June 29, looking at it again I ended up having the first draft of the script. Laying this to one side, because one will always make some changes, I concentrated on locations and some props vital to the story, and I found that I had them all. I then committed the hand-written script to the typewriter and put everything down in the correct script format, which is much easier for the actors and the director to work from.


And so, here I am, having promised myself a rest, practically all set to go on another movie - and it’s still only July at the time of writing. Which reminds me, I haven’t seen anything in the Newspage about fiction films that the club is making.


Have you given up on the genre? They haven’t made one since Geoff Payne’s film ‘The Old Banger’ which was at least five years ago. And to think that Nuneaton Moviemakers used to be the club to beat in this field.


Remember The Carlisle Train’, ‘Ice, ‘Extinction Event and The Inventor’. Those were the days. But whatever you’re working on, I wish you every success”.


As regular attendees will know plans are afoot to make another of Geoff's scripts on the working title - 'Magnetic Attraction', hopefully with some of our friends from the Abbey Theatre and Masqueraders Theatre Group in acting roles. - Angie

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page