top of page

In memoriam

It's with great sadness at we recently learned of John Gibbs' passing. I first met him shortly after moving to the Midlands in 1987; I now needed some new friends to continue with film making.


I can't remember how I tracked down a contact, in those pre-internet days, but I found john's phone number, and was soon a member of Nuneaton Moviemakers. For many years. John, like his father before him, effectively was Nuneaton Moviemakers, taking on the role of Secretary, along with many other tasks.


He also served on the MMM committee, the CEMRIAC council and on the national IAC Council, becoming IAC Chairman for two years.


John was also a stalwart of UNICA - the international organisation for amateur film makers - attending their festivals around Europe. In 2006, he encouraged me to go to UNICA in South Korea; my first time, and I've been ever since. John was not the most prolific film maker, preferring to help others with Club productions. He appeared in quite a few films, however, and made some very good videos himself.


Sadly, we don't seem to have any record of these. Can anyone help? I remember one that started with escape from a prison, followed by plastic surgery of the fugitive. I don't think that John ever really got over the loss of Jane. They were a devoted couple. They leave two daughters, Anna and Fiona, and some lovely grandchildren.


Alan

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page